Skip to content. Skip to navigation

ICTP Portal

You are here: Home words Search all news 2005 Nobel Prize in Physics 2005
Personal tools
Document Actions

Nobel Prize in Physics 2005

The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences has announced that the Nobel Prize in Physics 2005 has been awarded to:
Roy J. Glauber, Harvard University, Cambridge, MA,
John L. Hall, University of Colorado, Boulder, CO
Theodor W. HÃ¤nsch, Max-Planck-Institut fÃ¼r Quantenoptik, Garching, Germany.
Glauber lectured at the Adriatico Conference on Vacuum in Non-Relativistic Matter-Radiation Systems in 1987. He has been awarded the Nobel Prize â€œfor his contribution to the quantum theory of optical coherence". In the 1970s, he collaborated extensively with Luciano Bertocchi (former Acting Director of ICTP and a professor at the University of Trieste’s Department of Theoretical Physics, DFT), Daniele Treleani and the late Giorgio Alberi, also from the University of Trieste’s DTF.


Powered by Plone This site conforms to the following standards: