Skip to content. Skip to navigation

ICTP Portal

You are here: Home words Search all news 2005 Trieste Science Prize
Personal tools
Document Actions

Trieste Science Prize

The official ceremony for the first Trieste Science Prize will take place at Teatro Giuseppe Verdi in Trieste on Tuesday, 11 October, at 11 a.m. Tiruppattur V. Ramakrishnan (former Member of the ICTP Scientific Council, and DAE Homi Bhabha Professor of Physics, Banaras Hindu University in Varanasi, India) and Sergio Henrique Ferreira (Professor of Pharmacology in the Faculty of Medicine at the University of SÃ£o Paulo in RibeirÃ£o Preto, Brazil) will be honoured for their distinguished contributions to science. The Trieste Science Prize, which is sponsored by IllycaffÃ¨ and TWAS (the Academy of Sciences for the Developing World), in collaboration with the Municipality of Trieste, carries a US$50,000 cash prize. T.V. Ramakrishnan will deliver a lecture on “Many electrons avoiding each other: Strange goings on” on Wednesday, 12 October, in the Main Lecture Hall at 4 p.m., and will hold a seminar on “Coulomb interaction and nanoscale electronic inhomogeneities” on Thursday 13 October in Room 239, at 11 a.m. A short interview with T.V. Ramakrishnan was published in News from ICTP, Summer 1999, p.9.


Powered by Plone This site conforms to the following standards: